home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2016, 08:17 PM   #1
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default T5 Swapped 7/9 and Pro 5.0 Shifter questions

Ok so lets just say that I am going to be picking up a T5 Swapped 7/9 Soon and I have a few basic questions.

I hear a lot of talk that the Pro 5.0 shifter is the way to go. Can this unit be swapped in fairly easily while in the car? Idea of time it takes to swap in car?

Also when doing this swap is there anything I need to do to relocate the shifter for better fit in a 7/9?

Thanks
__________________
Chip Feedback Thread / PM LH 2.4 Chip Prices
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 11:12 PM   #2
Maxdabreaker
Board Member
 
Maxdabreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Scratchy-mento, CA
Default

If it's got a Ford t5 tailhousing it's kinda difficult to get to the shifter, but doable. I haven't done it, but a Camaro tail housing SHOULD put the shifter closer to the hole.
Maxdabreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 11:26 PM   #3
Vincent Gagnon
Board Member
 
Vincent Gagnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Quebec
Default

Or, you could to this, but...

http://www.d24t.com/showthread.php?t=373
__________________

Vincent Gagnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 11:34 PM   #4
Maxdabreaker
Board Member
 
Maxdabreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Scratchy-mento, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Gagnon View Post
Or, you could to this, but...

http://www.d24t.com/showthread.php?t=373
I saw that a few months ago, I'm not sure what was done to prevent ATF from coming out where the plug was.
Maxdabreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 11:43 PM   #5
Vincent Gagnon
Board Member
 
Vincent Gagnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Quebec
Default

I'm doing the swap now on a 740, seems you need to relocate the fusebox and expand the hole for the shifter foward.
A funky shifter and you are set.
Also, look a this mother mount, pretty nice no?

Vincent Gagnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 11:46 PM   #6
Maxdabreaker
Board Member
 
Maxdabreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Scratchy-mento, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Gagnon View Post
A funky shifter and you are set.
That's what I ended up doing, it's less than desirable, but it works.

I started with a B&M ripper, cut the top off and bent up a crazy handle with round stock, flattened it to volt to the shifter, called it good.
Maxdabreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 12:00 AM   #7
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Gagnon View Post
Or, you could to this, but...

http://www.d24t.com/showthread.php?t=373
I have been looking at a few setups like that, I guess once I get the car back home I need to tear into it and figure out what is the best option for me.
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 12:02 AM   #8
volvinator
Board Member
 
volvinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tucson Az
Default

Too bad MN12 Performance went under years ago. They sold a pretty nice shifter box extension kit.
volvinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 12:08 AM   #9
Maxdabreaker
Board Member
 
Maxdabreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Scratchy-mento, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Gagnon View Post
Also, look a this mother mount, pretty nice no?

Yeah, thats pretty badass.
Maxdabreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 01:54 PM   #10
DET17
Reformed SAABaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NW Georgia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelostartof View Post
I have been looking at a few setups like that, I guess once I get the car back home I need to tear into it and figure out what is the best option for me.
Find the FS thread from OZ....guy will soon be selling/swapping the longer T5 Falcon housing (unique to OZ) for Mustang housings. Fidel was working on a supply chain of these a few years back. OP of the thread says he has done several himself, and shifter location is proper for the 7/9 without butchering the dash. You might get exactly what you need for shipping costs.....
__________________
Project "cheap thrills" build thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...67#post4211467

Feedback thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=198746
DET17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 04:08 PM   #11
nathaninwa
The Beloved Oarnge Juice
 
nathaninwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WA
Default

I bet with minimum rework, the astro van shifter can be made to work perfect

http://lugnutz65chevystepside.weebly.../safari-van-t5

Even the shifter from a gto t56
__________________
962j 815/692@27psi

SHEETMETAL INTAKEhttp://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...etmetal+intake

THIS IS FORSALE V
nathaninwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:09 AM   #12
Benjam83
Moar Volvos than Queen B
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria Illinois
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Gagnon View Post
Or, you could to this, but...

http://www.d24t.com/showthread.php?t=373
I like the idea on this one......


I just don't know about that execution though....

I've seen this car pop up on Craigslist a number of times in the last coupe of years, also.
__________________
Ben

12 WRX Hatchback
10 Subaru Outback
93 245 m47
Benjam83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:30 AM   #13
Vincent Gagnon
Board Member
 
Vincent Gagnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Quebec
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benjam83 View Post
I like the idea on this one......


I just don't know about that execution though....

I've seen this car pop up on Craigslist a number of times in the last coupe of years, also.
Personnally (for what it's worth) I think it's a little overkill.
Just hack up the hole for the shifter and move the fuse box foward.
Pretty simple.
Vincent Gagnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:48 AM   #14
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Gagnon View Post
Personnally (for what it's worth) I think it's a little overkill.
Just hack up the hole for the shifter and move the fuse box foward.
Pretty simple.
You obviously haven't been into a 7/9 dash before....

And having a stock, non-hackjob install isn't important it would appear?
__________________
RIP
Doug Williams "Mr. Doug" 4/15/2009
Pete Fluitman "fivehundred" 7/14/2013
Mick Starkey "TrickMick" 1/10/14
Mark Baldwin "blue850t5" 7/19/18
Nick Fengler "fengler" 8/6/18
Thomas Fritz "stealthfti" 10/11/18


74 144 B20
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=224983

90 745Ti
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=334698

If you need Superpro bushings PM me for price and availability!
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:51 AM   #15
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

the problem with that is the shifter ends up going into the console/radio/etc.. A real pro 5.0 might not be a bad thing, but the clones are garbage. I snagged a lightly used hurst off fleabay back in the day and it was pretty awesome.

that extension linked above would work ok, not sure how much atf you really get up there, but if it was a problem one could address it with some sorta boot.
__________________
"They bum rushed them in their own crib, they drank all their beer, they partied with their ladies and they left with the trophy"

Now with in-house Dyno tuning!

Megasquirt Tuning!
Plug and play LH 2.4 Megasquirt, now with stealth mode!
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:55 AM   #16
Vincent Gagnon
Board Member
 
Vincent Gagnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Quebec
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
You obviously haven't been into a 7/9 dash before....
Yes I did.
Just fixed the problem.
See how easy it is to move the fusebox now?
You just cut the little frame that holds the rubber thingy for the shifter, move it foward a little, weld, wel a plate where the gap is and you are set. Easy as pie.

Vincent Gagnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 11:19 AM   #17
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

Okay, while keeping the stock dash in the car, moving the fusebox is not feasible.

I actually have one of the billet Hurst's in the 140 right now, really smooth, nice feel to it Mike. A bit cheaper than the Pro 5.0 as well. Found mine locally on CL for $75.
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 01:25 PM   #18
Benjam83
Moar Volvos than Queen B
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria Illinois
Default

My buddy had a Steeda Tri-ax shifter. Personally, I liked that better than the Pro 5.0 shifters. I had the Pro 5.0 in my 940SE, with the goofy L-shaped extension....it was meh.

my .02
Benjam83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 02:02 PM   #19
Lord_Athlon
Just damn
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Real world
Default

Mike, send me a message. I have both ideas and solutions.
__________________
84 242 turbo msII
My build https://forums.tbforums.com/showthread.php?t=8675309
Lord_Athlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 04:37 PM   #20
fortbrick
Board Member
 
fortbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indiana
Default

Check out this thread

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=320132
fortbrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 05:22 PM   #21
Lord_Athlon
Just damn
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Real world
Default

http://car-part.com/cgi-bin/search.c...erPage=1&iKey=

Remote mounted t5. Shifter attaches similar to how an m46 or bmw shifter attaches.
Lord_Athlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 02:43 PM   #22
89740GLT
Board Member
 
89740GLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Altadena, CA
Default

TLAO,

Can this unit be swapped in fairly easily while in the car?

**Like some have stated, if you have the Ford T5, then the shifter will not be in an ideal position. The shifter sits about 4-5" too far forward.

Idea of time it takes to swap in car? **1-2 hours but depends on how much metal was hacked away and if the console and fuse box wiring was relocated.

Also when doing this swap is there anything I need to do to relocate the shifter for better fit in a 7/9? ** In my case, I left the original shifter in the stock location then built a slave unit right behind that. This set the shifter in the correct spot on my 1991 940T. To make the install look stock, you will need the correct center console trim for a manual transmission or modify the Automatic one.

89740GLT
89740GLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.